ICD 9 , 10 CODE for Hypertension and Congestive heart failure CHF

ICD 9 code for Hypertension 401

401.9 - Essential hypertension; unspecified  Toggle Dictionary Definitions

Includes: high blood pressure, hyperpiesia, hyperpiesis, arterial hypertension, essential hypertension, primary hypertension, systemic hypertension
hypertensive vascular: degeneration, disease
Excludes: elevated blood pressure without diagnosis of hypertension (796.2), pulmonary hypertension (416.0-416.9), that involving vessels of: brain (430-438), eye (362.11)

Excludes: that complicating pregnancy, childbirth, or the puerperium (642.0-642.9)
that involving coronary vessels (410.00-414.9)

ICD 10 code hypertension

ICD-9 Description ICD-9 ICD-10 Description ICD-10

401.9 Unspecified essential hypertension I10 Essential (primary) hypertension
401.1 Benign essential hypertension I10 Essential (primary) hypertension

HYPERTENSION Definition Change

In ICD-10, hypertension is defined as essential (primary). The concept of “benign or malignant” as it relates to hypertension no longer exists.

When documenting hypertension, include the following:

1. Type e.g. essential, secondary, etc.
2. Causal relationship e.g. Renal, pulmonary, etc.

I10 Essential (primary) hypertension
I11.9 Hypertensive heart disease without heart failure
I15.0 Renovascular hypertension

When documenting hypertension, include the following:

1. Timeframe An AMI is now considered “acute” for 4 weeks from the time of the incident,  a revised timeframe from the current ICD-9 period of 8 weeks.

2. Episode of care ICD-10 does not capture episode of care (e.g. initial, subsequent,  sequelae).

3. Subsequent AMI ICD-10 allows coding of a new MI that occurs during the 4 week “acute  period” of the original AMI.

Diverse facts about hypertension 

Human body is the one of the complicated creation and can be called as best engineering that they world has ever seen. Human body is a combination of bones, muscles, nerves and organs with the blood flow all over the body. After extensive medical research the functions of the body and also each change that happens in the body are termed accordingly. The increase in the blood pressure is called as hypertension which is an issue that should be considered seriously. It will cause various inconveniences in the body and will bring pain and other problems. Blood is pumped all over the body in the by the heart as it pumps the purified the blood to pass to the entire body.

The pressure reading of the blood in the body makes huge influence in the body and hence there should be proper level of blood pressure. The top level of blood pressure is called as systolic and the lower level is called diastolic. The systolic level is reached when the heart pumps the blood out to flow all through the body. Hypertension occurs when they blood pressure level reached above 140. This should be taken in serious note because there would be many complications and health issues. Hypertension is risky as it causes sickness such as heart disease, kidney disease, stroke, and heart attacks. Most of the cardio vascular diseases are because of the high blood pressure.

It increases the stress in the heart as the heart strains much for the need for oxygen as the systole level is reached. Basically there some reasons for high blood pressure and that includes: stress, imbalanced diet, environmental factors, smoking, and moreover genetic problems. The increase in the salt content in the human body will increase the blood pressure in the body. The other causes for high blood pressure are because the obesity and overweight and also the increasing water content and hormonal changes in the body. Therefore it is advised to diagnose high blood pressure in the early stage to take proper treatment to avoid the risk.

Early treatment will reduce the risk of kidney problems and heart attacks. Treatment will be given according to the type of high blood pressure the person is suffering from. The major two types of high blood pressure are primary and secondary. The most of the people who suffering from hypertension will have primary type and the rest of the people will have the secondary type. Only below ten percentages of patients will have secondary type but both the types are risky.

The cause for the primary type is not known exactly as it can be anything and the cause for the secondary type is combination of the reasons discussed above. If the repercussions are mild the medications will be given to regulate the pressure levels and for the issues happened to the person whereas if the repercussions are high then they will give treatment for the organs affected by high blood pressure. Take necessary steps earlier to get rid of the risk.


Terminology Differences & Increased Specificity

The terminology used in ICD-10 exactly matches the types of CHF. If you document “decompensation” or “exacerbation,” the CHF type will be coded as “acute on chronic.”
When documenting CHF, include the following:

1. Cause e.g. Acute, chronic
2. Severity e.g. Systolic, diastolic

I50.23 Acute on chronic systolic (congestive) heart failure
I50.33 Acute on chronic diastolic (congestive) heart failure
I50.43 Acute on chronic combined systolic (congestive) and diastolic (congestive)  heart failure

428.0 Congestive heart failure, unspecified ICD 9 code can be replaced by

I50.20 Unspecified systolic (congestive) heart failure
I50.21 Acute systolic (congestive) heart failure
I50.22 Chronic systolic (congestive) heart failure
I50.23 Acute on chronic systolic (congestive) heart failure
I50.30 Unspecified diastolic (congestive) heart failure
I50.31 Acute diastolic (congestive) heart failure
I50.32 Chronic diastolic (congestive) heart failure
I50.33 Acute on chronic diastolic (congestive) heart failure
I50.40 Unspecified combined systolic (congestive) and diastolic (congestive) heart failure
I50.41 Acute combined systolic (congestive) and diastolic (congestive) heart failure
I50.42 Chronic combined systolic (congestive) and diastolic (congestive) heart failure
I50.43 Acute on chronic combined systolic (congestive) and diastolic (congestive) heart failure
I50.9 Heart failure, unspecified

No comments:

Medical Billing Popular Articles